Truth and Solace Book Cover Truth and Solace
Love at Solace Lake Book 3
Jana Richards
Adult, New Adult, Contemporary Romance
March 28, 2018

Love is worth the risk…

When their grandfather dies, the Lindquist sisters, Harper, Scarlet and Maggie, inherit the northern Minnesota fishing lodge that had been in their family for three generations. The inheritance is bittersweet. They were raised at the lodge by their grandparents. The natural beauty of the place hasn’t changed, but the building itself is crumbling and desperately in need of repair. The lodge also reminds them of what they lost. Twenty-two years previously, their parents died there in what was ruled a murder/suicide.

As the sisters struggle to breathe new life into the failing lodge, old fears and questions rise to the surface even as new love presents itself. Why did their father murder their mother? What truths did their grandparents keep from them? The sisters must fight to keep the wounds of the past from putting their futures, and their fledgling relationships, in jeopardy.

The truth could destroy them. Or set them free.

Maggie Lindquist left Solace Lake determined never to return. Circumstances have pulled her back and she’s helping to restore her family’s dilapidated fishing lodge. When she agreed to the plan she didn’t expect to have to work side by side with the man who abandoned her ten years earlier. She didn’t expect to like him, or want him ever again. But can she trust him as she once did?

Luke Carlsson rushes home to tend to his ailing mother. Her lengthy illness means he needs to stay, at least temporarily. And to stay, he needs to work. Solace Lake Lodge offers him a job and an opportunity to work with the woman he’s never stopped loving. But the restoration is unleashing secrets hidden for decades and no one is left unscathed. Especially not Maggie and Luke, whose love needs to be resilient enough to forgive, and strong enough to build a future together.

Available at Amazon.

Reviewed by: Linda Tonis

Member of the Paranormal Romance Review Team

Once again the lodge is preparing for a wedding, this time it is Cameron and Scarlet who are walking down the aisle. The only Lindquist sister still without a boyfriend is the youngest Maggie. This is Maggie’s story and this is the final book in the series which answers all questions and finally reveals all the secrets. This was my third journey with the Lindquist sisters and I loved every one.

Maggie has been hiding secrets from her sisters who believe that she gave up a successful career as an executive chef to help out at the lodge, but I won’t reveal what truly happened to her in this review. Harper and Ethan have been begging her to take the executive chef position at the lodge something she has been hesitant to accept since she has little confidence in herself but the thought of leaving her family finally changes her mind and she accepts.

Everything seems to be going wonderfully with the lodge and everyone loves Maggie’s cooking but everything changes when she comes face to face with her first love Luke who walked out on her ten years ago to go to California. When Maggie was fourteen and Luke was eighteen they were in love and she gave him her virginity but when the summer ended so did they. He didn’t leave her pleasantly but instead told her to go home and play with her dolls after she caught him kissing another girl.

For ten years Maggie tried to forget Luke but seeing him again has brought back all her feelings. Luke has come back and applied for the restaurant and hotel manager job but only temporarily since he will be leaving again once his mother dies. His mother is Abby the girl’s mother’s best friend and the one Maggie ran to whenever she needed a shoulder to cry on now Abby who has mean’t so much to the girls is dying and when Luke leaves again Maggie will once again have to nurse a broken heart.

Luke left Maggie but never forgot her, he like Maggie still remembers the past and the love they shared and he also lives with the guilt of leaving her. Why he left is something you will need to read for yourself but it is a reason that would only make Maggie hate him.

This was a wonderful series about three sisters whose lives changed the day it was believed their father killed their mother and himself but what really happened is revealed in this book in addition to a few surprises that were never hinted at in the previous two. I highly recommend this series.

1st Place: Y/A & N/A

1st Place: Y/A & N/A – SERIES