Embrace the Dawning Book Cover Embrace the Dawning
The Vampire Covenant Series Book 1
Betty Shreffler
Paranormal Romantic Suspense
Betty Shreffler
April 19, 2016

Kayci Pierce possesses strength, endurance, and accelerated healing that set her apart from normal humans—traits she's never understood and kept hidden since childhood. She feels disconnected from the seemingly normal world around her—until she's attacked by a creature she didn't know exists and then rescued by a stranger she can't forget. Dreams of the attractive, dangerous man haunt her and lead her into a world she was born for.

Adrian Spade spends most of his solitary nights hunting rogue vampires for the Covenant, until an undeniable attraction leads him to reveal his vampire identity and risk his life by saving Kayci's. Tempted by her mysterious nature, Adrian finds himself drawn to Kayci and becomes her protector while she discovers her heritage and what it means to be a half-breed vampire sorceress.

Kayci's relationship with Adrian brings her as much passion as it does danger. Now with a vampire revolution beginning and a romantic connection to a full-blood vampire, Kayci must work with Adrian to survive surrounding threats. As Kayci tries to make sense of an unfamiliar world, she's forced to choose between the life she's always known and her vampire birthright.

From the Author: This is a full length, 100,000 word novel that provides background information that sets up the rest of the series. Books 2 and 3 are faster paced and increase in suspense and romance. The series must be read in order.

Reviewed by: Linda Tonis

Member of the Paranormal Romance Review Team

All her life Kayci Pierce has been different. She heals quickly and is stronger than most people man or woman. The secret to why she is different was discovered the night she was attacked by a vampire and saved by another one. Adrian Spade is a vampire hunter for the Covenant, a group that ensures vampires do not go against the rules. He never intended to reveal himself to Kayci, but he had no choice. He has been watching her ever since he first saw her in a bar.

It is when she and her best friend Elise go to the Blue Moon Lounge that she meets up with her rescuer again. She feels an instant connection with him, she isn’t even overly shocked to find out that vampires, exist much to Adrian’s surprise. Kayci decides to research vampires and learn everything she can which brings her to an old book store run by a witch, Rosemary. It is through Rosemary that Kayci discovers what she really is. Kayci is the offspring of a human and a vampire, making her a hybrid. The only way  a vampire can have a child is if a witch binds the vampire curse which is what happened. Kayci’s mom was a witch who died and it is unknown where her father is, or if he is even alive.

The Covenant is a group of very old vampires who would not be happy about Kayci. Although Adrian works for the Covenant, he will do whatever he has to do to protect Kayci from them. There is no doubt in his mind they will want her dead. But, the Covenant is not the only problem. An evil vampire named Danika is planning a revolution against the Covenant with the desire to have vampires take their rightful place in the world and bring the humans to their knees. Kayci would be a problem for Danika because it is unknown what powers Kayci will have. Her mother was a very powerful sorceress and Kayci may have inherited her powers.

Adrian and Kayci know they have a bond and when he finds out what Kayci is, he realizes it was her vampire blood that called to him. The problem is, she is only half vampire and will age and eventually die. When called to appear before the Covenant, Kayci is surprised to find she has an ally, the leader Eva. I won’t reveal why Eva is on her side, it is just one of many things you will have to find out for yourself. Where is her father? Why has he never come to her? What powers has she received from her mother? What does it mean to embrace the dawning?

This was a wonderful story, but I did find it slow moving at times. There are surprises, betrayals secrets and suspense. I look forward to the next book in the series.