Night Child Book Cover Night Child
Night series Book 3
Lisa Kessler
Paranormal Romance
Entangled: Select Otherworld
April 28, 2014

Reviewed by:   Linda Tonis

Member of the Paranormal Romance Review Team

Muriah La Deaux owns a bookstore called Dimension’s Den, not an ordinary bookstore, but one where she has hard-to-find books and relics. Her newest acquisition is a Mayan Codex for her customer and boyfriend, Richard Talley. Richard was the kind of man she always sought, a man she knew she wouldn’t love. Her father left her and her mother when she was four years old; she has had no trust in men or love.

On her thirtieth birthday, she was to spend it with Richard. However, he was a no show, not unusual for him. Only this time he had a very good excuse. He was dead and dismembered. She was going to tell him she found the codex, now it was too late.  Muriah has the ability to touch a relic and see its past history. When she touches the codex, she sees the birth of an immortal child and a man with blood on his hands.

Seeking help in translating the codex, she finds a woman named Gretchen, her dearest friend Lukas’ girlfriend. Lukas is a Night Walker and has been watching over the La Deaux family for generations. It is evident the woman carrying the immortal child is Gretchen herself. It is also the same night Issa, a Night Walker who has given his life to protect mortals, appears and changes Muriah’s life forever. He is known as the God of Sacrifice; he is the man Muriah saw when she touched the codex.

The child’s life now depends on the codex not falling into the hands of Apep who wants to use the baby as leverage against the Night Walkers and force them to become his servants.  With the child in his possession, the Night Walkers would be no more. Issa has to protect Muriah and the codex. She must also find a way to destroy Apep before he causes any more damage. The future of the Night Walkers depends on a mortal, Muriah, and an immortal, Issa.

Their journey takes them to Egypt with Apep always one step behind. In spite of her determination to never fall for a man, she is falling for Issa. However, he is no ordinary man. He is a God. Issa has felt nothing for centuries and when Muriah starts to creep into his heart, he knows he found the one person who could make him forget everything he has had to do to protect his people. Side by side, they search for a way to capture and contain Apep. At the same time, they begin to fall deeper and deeper for each other. Muriah knows there is no future with an immortal; he will never die and she surely will.  Can they destroy Apep?  Can they find a way to be together? Will the immortal child survive?

This is the last book in the series. I was only given two of them to read and review, but it did not impede my enjoyment in the least. The series does not have to be read in order, but if you haven’t read any of them, then start with book one. You won’t be disappointed. There is sex, love, violence, courage, and loyalty. There are recurring characters in each book, and it is always fun to find out what happens to the characters you first meet.